top of page

Got to Catch Them All - Botanist Edition


Earlier this year I purchased the new edition of "Kansas Wildflowers and Weeds". Looking through the glossy pages, I decided to try to find all the plants in this book.

Many species I am familiar with. Some I know about, but have never seen in the wild. A few are completely new to me. Just like in Pokemon, I want to catch them all!


So I am embarking on this task. It will be a multi-year project for certain. This will encourage me to look more closely at the ecosystems and habitat with which I am familiar. This will lead me to explore new places, especially in Western Kansas.


Rules:

1. To "catch" a species I need to take a photograph of it and positively identify it.


2. I am treating each species as new to me - so even the Missouri Evening Primrose and Annual Sunflower (the plants of my Master's Thesis and Ph.D. Dissertation) I need to find again for them to count.


3. I must "catch" the species in the wild. Garden specimens do not count.


4. I will make a post for each plant that I "catch" showing the photo and a little information. The goal is to make one post per day, one plant per post, though this may change.


5. I am starting this project in 2021, so past photos do not count as a "catch"


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page