top of page

Eating Wild

A good friend of mine creates the best New Year's Resolutions. Each year, she picks a subject - sparkle, rodents, spice - then explores that theme throughout the year. Inspired by her, I have decided that 2020 will be the year of eating wild. Throughout the year, I will explore the wild edible plants near me (eastern Kansas and western Missouri). Each month, I will choose a focus species, which I will highlight with in-depth posts, photos, and recipes. There will be other explorations as well throughout the year, especially during the summer months when plant life is bountiful. When I travel, I will seek out opportunities to sample wild edible plants not found at home.



Root of Pale Poppy Mallow


My guide for this year will be Samuel Thayer's book "Incredible Wild Edibles". I just received my copy in the mail today. Let the planning begin! I am looking forward to sharing this journey.





11 views0 comments
bottom of page