top of page

Camassia sp.

Updated: Jul 6, 2021


There are two species of Camassia found in Kansas, and based on the Key Characteristics, they are very similar.


The length of the racemes (i.e. cluster of flowers) for C. angusta ranges from 30-90 cm, whil that of C. scilloides ranges from 20 - 50 cm. The petals are have a similar range of color, as do the shapes of the fruits. The two species also have overlapping flowering periods, but C. scilloides starts flowering earlier. There is a difference in the number of bracts next to the racemes, but I didn't get those in the photos. I need to start bringing my book along when I am trying to ID plants.



I have "captured" Camassia at two different locations, and I do believe I have gotten both species.

 

Camassia scilloides - Atlantic Camas, Wild Hyacinth

Captured at Rocky Point Glade. May 6th 2021. This is the earlier blooming species. The evening light makes the flowers appear more pink than they were.


 

Camassia angusta - Greater Camas

Captured at Richmond Prairie on May 26th. Most of the plants had not begun to flower. They are also taller than the plants at Rocky Point Glade.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page