top of page

Juniper Berry Experiment 1: Panna cotta.

Updated: Jan 28, 2020

I have never made a panna cotta before, in fact, I hadn't really heard of this dessert before searching for recipes featuring juniper berries. When I discovered Local Milk's Juniper and Sea Salt Dark Chocolate Panna Cotta recipe, I knew I wanted to try it.


Panna Cotta is an Italian dessert which is a flavored sweet cream, made with gelatin and molded. It involved a lot of stirring, but otherwise, was pretty straight forward to make.


I enjoyed the entire process - the harvesting, the grinding, the making of the panna cotta, and most especially, the eating of the panna cotta. This was my first panna cotta experience, and oh...the smooth creamy texture and complex chocolate, salty, sweet, juniper flavors were magnificent. Beth from Local Milk has created a wonderful and easy to follow recipe.


Since making this, my mind has been churning over other ways to incorporate juniper berries into baking and candies. I see many experiments in my future!



22 views0 comments
bottom of page